Honesty? Honestly, the truth is…

People are so afraid to be honest. Yes, a statement, not a question. I am confused by this weird phenomenon. It is, to me anyway, so easy to be honest. I am sometimes brutally honest… only I feel that it is the least brutal thing I could do. Why? I’m glad you asked.

If you have ever been lied to about anything of significance, you may very well understand my reasoning. I consider myself honest and forthcoming. I don’t generally beat around the bush or try to hide things. With that said, I can compete and play mindless games if that is what the situation calls for. I like to think that I am open to change and an overall understanding and forgiving person; though I NEVER forget (suppress maybe, lol). People can use any excuse they need to lie, the list is endless. If you really care about someone, you could try saying “I don’t want to share right now” ß it’s the truth. Or better yet, “It’s none of your business”, unless of course it is their business. But the bottom line is avoidance is better than a lie, but know that the truth MUST come at some point or you will lose whatever or whomever you’re trying to protect. Lying is far more “brutal” than the truth. And if in fact the truth is going to hurt, maybe you should choose your actions wiser so you don’t have to justify or try to explain or backtrack. Everyone has regrets, but strive to never make someone regret you. The truth is if you feel the need to lie, it is because you have done something you shouldn’t have. Here’s more truth, Trust is the one thing that is easy to initially obtain, however, once it is lost or broken, it will undoubtedly be the hardest thing you will ever earn back in your lifetime (I can only assume this is so it will be rightfully cherished). It is also one thing that can never be fully restored to its once flawless state. I’m not saying you can’t recover from a lie, I’m saying that once you become a habitual offender, expect to be treated as so. Your word may be your most valuable asset and I wish that people care half as much about their word as they do their credit score.

2 comments on “Honesty? Honestly, the truth is…

  1. Leena says:

    that’s why I love you… you are my “square”

Leave a Reply

